A little about me.
As for me, I am in my thirties, married, and have our first child on the way.  My dad once told me that the older you get, the faster time seems to go by. Boy he was right! It seems like it was yesterday when I graduated from high school. At least I still feel like a kid. You know the cliché, "The only way I would be a kid again is if I could take with me what I know now." I had a great childhood and miss it very much and sometimes I feel like I have unfinished business there, but hey—you can’t dwell on the past! I still do a lot of "kid" stuff though. I collect cars, build models, play computer games, plus a variety of other things that would bore you to death. The one thing that I never grew out of is being the class clown. I can thank my mom for this personality trait. Sometimes I wonder if it does me more harm than good… Nahhh.


Want to read more?  Then keep going.  If not, click
here.

I grew up in a small town in south Georgia called Fitzgerald. It is one of those lazy little towns where everyone knows your business. However, being a kid growing up it was a great place to live. The only danger around was usually brought on by my own stupidity. I spent nearly every spare moment out in the woods either working on a club house, hunting, fishing, or just shooting my BB Gun (which got me in more trouble than I care to divulge.) I can remember when summers felt like they lasted forever, and by the time school rolled back around, I had practically forgotten everything I learned the previous year. They don’t make summers like that any more!

Anyway, by the time I got into high school, my dad got a job transfer and we had to pack up and move to Florida. It was probably one of the best things that ever happened to me because Fitzgerald is the type of place that would suck the ambition right out of you. I’ve always wondered what I would be doing if I stayed in that town.


Bored yet? Here’s the way
back.
I ended up marrying my high school sweetheart in June of ’91. Probably one of the better decisions I’ve made in my life. Even though we were married at a fairly young age (20/21) we’ve done pretty well for ourselves. We both did the college thing and now live in Orange Park, Florida (Jacksonville). I work for an engineering company designing signal systems for the railroad. I am pretty fortunate to have a job like this. Since railroad signal design is a niche industry, job security is pretty good. It is probably safe to say that there is less than a thousand people doing this type of work in the country. But who wants to talk about work? Let’s talk about fun stuff… hobbies!

I have all kinds of hobbies. I have more hobbies than I do time to enjoy them. This website being one of them, it takes a considerable amount of time to keep it up. Plus this isn’t the only website I maintain, I have one for my church plus one for the local women’s club. The one thing that I do enjoy most of all is collecting diecast cars. I do this in my spare-spare time. I primarily collect Hot Wheels™, but I do have a variety of other larger scale cars. If I can squeeze a little more time out of the day, maybe I can start doing some customizing. Hopefully one day I will win the lottery, then I can be a full time hobbyist. Or if I can just figure out a way to get paid…hmmm.

I spend much of my time up at the church doing one thing or another. I am the IT guy there as well as the multimedia coordinator. It keeps me pretty busy most of the time, besides this is what I really enjoy doing most. Plus I am involved with the men’s ministry.

Wow, maybe I should split and divide!

 

Home | About | Hobbies | Genealogy | Favorites | Site Map | Email
-
Copyright © 2002 jhudgins.com - James W. Hudgins, III
Have questions or comments about this site?  Send email here.

Site Disclaimer